German Pizza

I was flipping through my mom’s Taste of Home magazine the other day and a recipe caught my eye. It was a German pizza with mashed potatoes, sauerkraut, sausage and cheese. The recipe was submited by Angela Spengler.
I decided to veganize it and the results were surprisingly good.
CIMG0327
I was lazy and used a pre-made pizza crust mix. I followed the directions on the bag and decided to bake the crust by itself for about 12 minutes.
While the crust baked I whipped up some mashed potatoes. To make myself feel better about putting mashed potatoes on a pizza crust (Can you say carb overload?) I added kale that I’d sauted for a few minutes with two cloves of garlic.
After removing the crust from the oven I layered on the mashed potatoes, saurkraut, one Yvves Italian sausage I sliced up and some shredded Follow Your Heart Vegan Gourmet chedder soy cheese.
I baked it for about 10 minutes. Sadly the broiler is broken on our oven so I had to broil individual slices of the pizza in our toaster oven.
CIMG0333
It turned out really yummy. I think I should’ve added more saurkraut (I only used about 1/4 cup), but the it’s
definitely a keeper. Here’s the actual recipe instead of my ramblings:

German Pizza

Ingredients:
1 pizza crust
1 Yves Italian sausage
1  1/2  cups mashed potatoes
1/2 TSP salt
1/2 TSP coarsely ground black pepper
1 cup kale
2 TBSPs olive oil
2 cloves of garlic, minced
3/4 cup sauerkraut
1/4 cup shredded Follow Your Heart chedder soy cheese
Directions:
Pre-heat your oven to 400 degrees.
Roll out your pizza dough on to a  pizza pan and put it in the oven for 8-10 minutes or until it’s lightly golden brown.
Meanwhile saute the kale and garlic in 1 TBSP of olive oil for about 5 minutes or until tender.
Add kale and garlic mixture to mashed potatos along with salt and pepper.
Thinly slice the Yves sausage, then saute in 1 TBSP olive oil until they begin to brown.
Remove the pizza crust from the oven and layer on the mashed potatos with kale, sauerkraut, sausage, and FYH soy cheese.
Put back into the oven for 5-7 minutes until everything gets warmed through, then broil for 1-2 minutes until the soy cheese melts. Slice and enjoy!
3 thoughts on “German Pizza

  1. Mmm..I love the idea of mashed potatoes (with kale = colcannon) on the pizza! I love potatoes on pizza, and using the mashed pots as the ‘sauce’ is pure genius! This is going on my to-do list! Thanks for the inspiration, Hayley!

  2. That pizza looks great. Sauerkraut and kale are two of my favorite foods, so I’m pretty sure I’m going to make this soon. And I really like roasted potatoes on pizza, so I’m really interested in trying mashed potatoes on one.

Leave a Reply

