Frito Pie

My mom made chili this week and after seeing Miss V’s frito pie I felt the need to re-create the frito pies I used to enjoy from Sonic.

So I got a big bowl and put fritos in the bottom, added the chili and then topped it with cheez sauce.

For the sauce I shredded up some Follow Your Heart chedder cheese and melted it in a small sauce pan and added plain soy milk until I got the consistency I wanted. It really satisfied my craving.

My mom makes great chili. She used to use meat, but when I went vegetarian she just doubled the beans. It’s really good.

Mom’s Chili

Ingredients:

One medium onion, chopped

1 TBSP canola oil

1 can (14 1/2 oz.) red kidney bean, undrained

1 can (14 1/2 oz.)  navy beans, undrained

1 can (14 1/2 oz.) diced tomatoes, undrained

1 can original rotel Rotel

1 1/2 TBSP chili powder

1 1/2 TSP ground cumin

1/2 of 1 packet taco seasoning (make sure it’s vegan)

1/4 TSP garlic powder

Directions:

Heat a large pot to medium-high heat and add oil and onions. Cook until onions are translucent and fragrant.

After  the onions are done, add everything else into the pot and heat until boiling, then turn on to low heat and keep at a simmer for 30 minutes. Then serve! Super easy.

3 thoughts on “Frito Pie

Leave a Reply

