Happy (Belated) Thanksgiving

I wanna wish everyone a happy belated Thanksgiving! I know I’m two days late, but I’ve got a head cold and really didn’t feel like dealing with my computer (which has been running super slow lately).

And now, on to the food!

So here I have black olive seitan, a cheezy basil biscuit, colcannon (mashed potatoes + sauted kale) with Campbells mushroom gravy, and lastly green bean casserole.

Man, I love this seitan! Using a recipe from Peace by Pastries, it’s probably one of the first seitan recipes I ever tried, and now it’s a returning favorite.

The biscuits were just Bisquick mixed with plain soy milk, salt, pepper, nutritional yeast and basil. Easy, but tasty.

The colcannon is just basic mashed potatos with sauted kale and I took a short cut by using a can of Campbells mushroom gravy, which although canned is delicious.

Oh! How I’ve missed you green bean casserole! But no longer. Using a recipe from VegCooking Blog it replicated the yumminess of the casserole that I fondly remember my mom making for Thanksgiving every year. True, I forgot to get the mushrooms required for the recipe, but I just replaced them with cooked lima beans and it still turned out great.

All in all it was a delicious vegan feast and now I’ve got left-overs for days! Yay!

Leave a Reply

