Citrus Sugar Cookies

I posted before about an orange cookie recipe I was working on and now I think I’ve got the recipe just how I want it.

I made some to mail to my friend David (along with a homemade Christmas ornament) and to take to my swim team’s Christmas party. They’re basically sugar cookies with an orange twist and taste suprisingly reminiscent of orange sherbet.

One batch of cookies ended up spreading and looking like a catapillar, so I drew faces on them! 

Citrus Sugar Cookies

Printable Recipe

Ingredients:

1 1/2 TBSPs ground flaxseed

2 TBSPs warm water

1 cup softened margarine

1 cup sugar

2 1/2 TSPs orange extract

1/2 TSP lemon extract

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 TSP salt

1/2 TSP yellow food coloring (optional)

1-3 drops red food coloring (optional)

Directions:

Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees.

Add flaxseed and water to a medium mixing bowl and beat together with an electric mixer until well combined.

Add margarine, sugar, salt, orange extract, lemon extract and optional food coloring, then beat together until light and fluffy.

Slowly add in the flour until all of the two cups is fully incorporated.

Add measured out TBSPs of the dough on to a lightly greased baking pan.

Bake for 10-12 minutes. Let them sit on the pan for about 5 minutes then remove them. Once cool, eat and enjoy!

One thought on “Citrus Sugar Cookies

  1. Anything citrus, I’m there. But I have to say, lemon beats all. Maybe I’ll try making these with lemon… They would look delicious if they didn’t look so alive. As a vegan, I have a strict rule against eating caterpillars.

Leave a Reply

