Creamy Enchilada Sauce

I enjoy my Mexican food spicy, but with a creamy something to cool it off. That’s usually where dairy-laden sour cream and cheese come in, but being a vegan those aren’t options. I usually don’t have a ton of soy cheese on hand, and I don’t like how Tofutti’s vegan sour cream seems to over power the other flavors in a dish, so I decided to try my hand at making a creamy sauce to top some enchiladas I made.

I’d seen the Vegan Mouse use vegenaise on her enchiladas before and thought I’d try the same kinda thing. I scooped up some vegenaise, added some nutritional yeast for a mild cheesy flavor, a dash of garlic powder, then some hot sauce and chili powder to add spice.

I made enchiladas filled with refried pinto beans, sauted onions and peppers with some salsa and put them in a small casserole dish. I then topped them with a little bit more salsa, then I spooned the “creamy sauce” over that. I baked them for 20 minutes at 400. The top got nice and browned, but didn’t dry out the sauce and it turned out suprisingly good! Usually when I throw things together they come out “just okay”, but this recipe added that creamyness I was missing, while packing some heat and spice at the same time. I’m never eating enchiladas again without this on top.

Here’s one of the enchilads served with rice and fresh tomatoes.

Creamy Enchilada Sauce:

Printable Version

Ingredients:

2 1/2 TBSPs vegenaise

1 TBSP nutritional yeast

1/2 TSP chili powder

1/4 TSP garlic powder

1 TSP hot sauce

Directions:

Mix all the ingredients in a small bowl and then spoon over whatever Mexican dish you’re about to bake. Serve warm.

One thought on “Creamy Enchilada Sauce

Leave a Reply

