Panda Cupcakes

As you can probably tell by now, I find cute food irresistible. If you make it cute (and of course it has to be vegan), I’ll eat it. So when I saw “Hello, Cupcake” by Karen Tack and Alan Richardson sitting on a shelf in the library, I immediately checked it out.

I’m not very good at piping frosting, so most of the complicated cupcake ideas were out of the question. But then I found the page with the panda cupcakes! They were super cute and didn’t look too hard for an inexperienced froster like me. I decided to make some for a movie party that was happening at my house on the upcoming weekend.

I baked up some cupcakes using the Whole World in my Hands Cupcakes recipe from “100 Best Vegan Baking Recipes” minus the food dye, cut up the Oreos for panda arms, and frosted their little faces onto the mini cupcakes once they’d cooled from the oven.

This is my best looking panda cupcake.

I’ve still got quite a ways to go before I become good at frosting my cupcakes, but I’m pretty happy with how they all turned out. I was disappointed with how they tasted though.

 I’ve used the Whole World in My Hands Cupcakes recipe before (for my Veganniversary), but I’d altered the ingredients then and used lemon extract instead of vanilla extract. This time I followed the recipe exactly and the cupcakes turned out not sweet at all. They had a great texture, light and fluffy, but they tasted like plain bread. No hint of sweetness. I don’t know what went wrong. Has anyone else had a problem with that recipe?

Not that my friends cared. Most of them only eat the frosting off of cupcakes anyway, so it wasn’t a problem that the cupcakes themselves weren’t sweet. They had fun eating the panda heads while screaming “Nooo! Don’t eat me! Save us, Hayley!”

My army of panda cupcakes.
Leave a Reply

