Merry Christmas!

…Okay, I know this is two days late, but it was too busy of a weekend to blog any.

On Christmas Eve I made a wonderful dinner for my boyfriend and I, and I’m sad say I didn’t take any pictures. The meal consisted of a tofurky roast smothered in mushroom gravy, roasted rosemary potatoes, and cheezy green bean casserole. It was dark by the time everything finished cooking and I thought “I’ll take pictures of the leftovers tomorrow in the sunlight!” but that never happened because my sister and her boyfriend came along that night and ate every bit of the leftovers. I woke up and saw all the dirty dishes and was less than pleased to have no new food photos to blog with, that is until I saw this note:

It was left by Kaitlin and Josh. It reads:

“We bow before the cooking goddess known as Hayley.

We beg mercy for devouring her delightful food.

But alas, such great temptation cannot be resisted against. Forgive us.

Your humble admirers,

Kaitlin and Josh”

I laughed so hard reading this that I couldn’t be mad over having no food photos. So I thought I’d share it on the blog for others’ amusement.

This year we ended up having a white Christmas! Something that hasn’t happened in northern Alabama since 1963. The dogs enjoyed it immensely, as you can see below. Here’s Charlie and Grim (in his new Santa outfit) playing outside:

In the way of cooking related gifts this year I got two super duper awesome things. First was a KitchenAid stand mixer, which I am very very excited about. No more hand kneading for freshly baked bread! And the second is a Hamilton Beach ice cream maker. So now I can make my own dairy-free ice cream and won’t have to spend a fortune at the store just to satisfy my cookie dough ice cream craving. So I guarantee you’re going to see a lot more baked goods and icy treats related blog posts in the new year.

Leave a Reply

