Candy Time! … I Mean, Easter Time

I know, I know. This post is way over-due. It’s been over a week since Easter, and I’m just now getting around to posting about it. I’ve been a tad busy with this semester’s finals, training for my new job, not to mention recovering from the three days without power after the state-wide tornado disaster. But life goes on and I will get back into the swing of blogging again.

Easter time usually means three things (in most important order): Church, eating sugary candy, and dyeing eggs. I can easily do the first two and remain vegan, but the third poses a problem. In order to be able to join in the Easter festivities with the family, I went to the local Hobby Lobby craft store and got some vegan eggs!

There they are, pictured above both plain and painted. The “eggs” are made out of plastic, with a cardboard layer on the outside. They were only 30 cents each, and fun to paint. So this is a good option for vegans with children who want to dye eggs, or for those who simply would like to get into the Easter spirit.

For our Sunday school Bible study on Easter, I made these lemon cupcakes with the Eat, Drink, and Be Vegan recipe. I was out of soymilk that day, and I improvised by replacing the cup of soymilk with a cup of water and one TBSP of vegan sour cream. And they actually turned out more moist and fluffy than the original recipe! I am most definitely making them like this again.

I used dyed frosting and vegan jellybeans to make cute little Easter egg nests on top. I only wish I had more the time to make some mini chocolate bunnies to put alongside them.

3 thoughts on “Candy Time! … I Mean, Easter Time

Leave a Reply

