Freshman Eats, Plus a Coffee Shop Review

I was worried my food blog would take a down-turn when I went off to college. Most freshman stick with the campus’ cafeteria food, or just straight up ramen noodles. But I refuse to be like that. Though the University of Montevallo is very veggie friendly, I have a meal plan where I end up eating there once every weekday, and all other times I make my own food. Campbell’s classic tomato soup, peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, and quick cooking pasta have all become my friend.

I want to rely on processed and pre-made foods less, and I’m going to try and start cooking (and blogging) lots more. But until then, I’ll leave you with a review of the local coffee shop/bookstore, Eclipse Coffee & Books.

Eclipse is pretty much the only place other than fast food to eat in Montevallo. I heard great reviews from other students, so a group of us decided to take a walk over there and try it out.

When you first enter, you can tell the food is going to be good. The place has a relaxed, almost Hippie-ish atmosphere. There are many paintings/drawings tacked all over the place, by local artists no doubt. My favorite painting by far though is below, a portrait of a man and his cat. The main room is where the kitchen is and the most amount of chairs and tables. But throughout the building there are rooms stuffed from floor to ceiling with books, where there are small designated eating areas.

Eclipse has a broad menu with sandwiches, salads, soups, (not to mention breakfast is served all day, and they have pita pizzas on Wednesdays) and about half is already vegetarian. After looking over and considering for a while, I opted for the veggie sandwich and an Alternative Baking Company double chocolate chip cookie.

The sandwich was really delicious and surprisingly filling. It was served on warm pita bread (the only vegan bread available there), slathered with red pepper hummus. The veggie fillings were sliced cucumber, carrot, tomato, avocado (which I requested for an extra 50 cents), and red onion. It was served with a two pickles and pretzel sticks on the side. With its interesting atmosphere and great food, I would definitely recommend you try Eclipse Coffee & Books next time you wander into Montevallo.

A small wooden totem pole in front of Eclipse.

Leave a Reply

