Pasta, Totoro, and Some Fangirl Shoes

Slowly but surely, my counter tops are getting more crowded with ingredients and pots and pans for cooking, instead of more important things like textbooks and homework. But to make up for that, I have made some seriously yummy food over the past week. Midterms are over and now I actually have time to cook and not just grab something that I can microwave and grub on.

The first real meal I made was fresh veggie spaghetti (including farmer’s market tomatoes, onions, and spinach) and a salad with spinach, tomatoes, avocado, fried onion topping, and yummy thousand island dressing.

 

Another notable dish made this week was Another notable dish made this week was mac’ and weenies! The trashiest dinner ever, macaroni and cheese with sliced hot dogs mixed in, veganized! I made the cheezy macaroni with Daiya, but did it different than my usual method. Most days I’ll just mix together cheddar Daiya, plain soymilk, seasonings, and margarine and heat it until it melts. This time I went through the trouble of making a roux then slowing adding the other ingredients. It was well worth the effort because it ended up being the creamiest and richest vegan mac and cheez I’ve ever eaten. Delicious.

Also I now have more time to craft (at least until finals creep up). In the knitting area I made this adorable Totoro hat for Peter (with this pattern). And I have also started to get into upcycling clothes and accessories. So as my first project I bought these $1, slightly ugly, golden shoes from a thrift store and painted on the band AFI’s name and the cover art from their latest album, Crash Love. I now proudly strut about campus wearing my fangirl shoes.

 

2 thoughts on “Pasta, Totoro, and Some Fangirl Shoes

Leave a Reply

