Easter Time – Veganized Cadbury Eggs

Yet again, Easter has come and gone, as has my sugar high. I hope everyone had just as good of a day as I did. I know you’re tired of my holiday wishes though, so let’s get on to the candy.

Last year I made Easter egg nest cupcakes, and the year before I did the same thing. So to change it up, I wanted to try a veganized recipe of Cadbury cream eggs. I was addicted to these as a child, and since they only came out around Easter, that made it an extra special treat. I looked through many recipes and couldn’t find one that I was interested in, so I came up with my own!

Vegan Cadbury Eggs

Makes 10 large “eggs”

Ingredients:

1/4 cup of light agave nectar

1/4 cup maple syrup

1/4 cup margarine, softened

1/4 tsp vanilla

1/4 tsp salt

3 cups powdered sugar

1  4 oz. vegan dark chocolate bar (this can also be substituted by 1/2 cup of chocolate chips)

Directions:

In a large bowl, cream together agave nectar, maple syrup, margarine, vanilla, and salt. Then slowly add in the powdered sugar, one cup at a time. After the mixture is complete, it should look like this:

Put the cream into the freezer for a few minutes so it will harden. While that is happening, break the chocolate bar up, place into a bowl, and microwave for 20 second intervals. Stir the chocolate each time after it is heated, and continue until completely melted.

Hopefully by this time the cream has firmed up. If so, take the mixture and roll it into a several small balls (or whatever your preferred shape is). Quickly dunk the balls, one at a time, into the melted chocolate, being sure to coat the entire thing. Once coated, place them onto a plate with wax paper, then back into the fridge. Once the chocolate dries, you’re ready to eat them!

Also, so as to not miss out on the tradition of dyeing eggs, I bought some chicken-friendly paper mache eggs at Hobby Lobby. I made some boring pastel colored small eggs, but I also got a giant egg and painted Frank on it, who is from the cult-classic movie Donnie Darko. I followed an online drawing tutorial to get his face drawn right (though his teeth are still a bit too bucky).

One thought on “Easter Time – Veganized Cadbury Eggs

Leave a Reply

