Dyed Yarn – First Try

Last week I tried dyeing yarn for the first time. Sadly, most websites only focus on dyeing animal fibers (usually sheep or alpaca wool) which doesn’t fit with my vegan lifestyle. So I just bought a skein of white Peaches and Cream 100% cotton yarn, a tie dye kit, and tried to give it a go!

Thankfully Peter helped me, because I probably couldn’t have done it myself. Before the dyeing began, I wrapped the yarn around a large notebook and slid it off, so it was longer and easier to dye than a wrapped skein. Then we mixed up the dyes from the kit (the colors were blue, green, and pink), gloved up, and got to dyeing!

We just separated the yarn into three sections by using rubberbands and then put each different dye on each section. Then we wrapped it up and left it for 7 hours. Afterwards I washed it out and the picture above is what I got. I was pretty happy with it. The colors stayed bright and I liked the random white spots and purple (where the blue and pink mixed). My only problem was that the yarn got extremely tangled after washing it and it took me a few hours to untangle it. Before I try this again, I will find a better method where it won’t become a big knotty mess.

I used the dyed yarn to make a knitted kitty! Which shows off the yarn’s different colors nicely.

4 thoughts on “Dyed Yarn – First Try

  1. fibercrush says:

    If you do an S-tie in four places around your skein, you can keep it from tangling. Also, I have made small 8″ x 8″ pockets out of polyester lacy curtain fabric. I just sew up three sides and put the yarn in the pocket. Pleat the top and use a safety pin to hold it closed. I wash yarn as well as fleece right in the pocket. You could also use those lingerie bags for laundry. That and the S-tie help keep the yarn from tangling. Here’s a video on the sS-tie: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xtkoM06LVQI

Leave a Reply

