Fishnet Scarf Pattern

I have written quite a lot on this blog about the many crafts I have done, but today I am proud to say I am posting my first knitting pattern. 😀

It is a pretty simple scarf, great for a beginner. It isn’t super bulky also and could be comfortably worn on a mild summer’s day.

Fishnet Scarf

Printable Pattern

Materials:

Size 11 US/8mm straight knitting needles

1 skein worsted weight yarn (I used Red Heart Super Saver in Tea Leaf)

Yarn Needle

Directions:

CO 16 sts (This pattern can be used on any multiple of 2 sts. Cast on a larger or smaller number for a different sized scarf)

  1. Knit across
  2. K1 *YO K2TG* to last stitch, K1
  3. Knit across
  4. K2 *YO K2TG* to end of row.

Repeat rows 1-4 until the entire piece reaches 36 inches.

Bind off all stitches.

Weave in ends.

17 thoughts on “Fishnet Scarf Pattern

  1. Sheila says:

    I’ve been looking for a simple fishnet pattern and thank you for this, exactly what I needed.

    What multiple of stitches can you use, for example if you wanted to make it wider or narrower?

  2. Sheila says:

    It works with any even number of stitches (multiples of 2). I made a long rose-colored scarf in cotton. It stretched lengthwise quite a bit, and after I washed and blocked it, it ended up adding another ten or so inches to about 72 inches. I’m sending it to my grandaughter who is in college in Southern California, hence the cotton instead of wool. It should look quite grand. Thanks again.

  3. Nikki T says:

    I can not wait to knit this. I just got the yarn I wanted today. It will be my first attempt at anything “lacy”.

  4. Petra says:

    Thanks for this pattern! Just knitting a chunky version of it. I decided to use an odd number of stitches and starting Row 2 with K2 – still K1 at the end.

    So, Row 2 is:
    K2 *YO K2TG* to last stitch, K1

    It makes a more even edge on both sides of the scarf.

    I also found, using chunky wool, that the pattern makes the bottom and top edges run at an angle rather than straight – so the whole scarf is like a long, thin parallelogram. Unintentional, but rather nice!

    • Sorry for such a slow reply! At the end of your scarf, on one edge there should be a small tail left over from casting on. When that tail is on the same side as your needle tip, then you need to knit the whole row. If it’s on the other side, then begin one of the YO rows.

  5. Suzy says:

    I just started this and I love the pattern. I’m making it for my daughter. I’m using Lily, sugar’n cream. The color is hot blue. It’s a cotton yarn and is perfect for this pattern I think. Will be great for summer. Thanks 🙂

  6. Suzy says:

    I see you changed your pattern. You added row 4 with knit 2 instead of knit 1. I’m not sure now which I’m supposed to be doing or can I do either? Thanks

  7. Kathy B says:

    I made your scarf out of Cascades superwash worsted weight, I love how it turned out! The instructions were easy to follow, even for me who is a beginner knitter. Will definitely knit scarves with this pattern. Thanks for posting it.

Leave a comment